Select Page

Art Around Town 2024

23rd Annual Art Around Town

February 19-28, 2024

Artwork by area elementary students will take the spotlight during the 23rd annual Art Around Town exhibit. The event is set for March 19-28 on the mezzanine at the West Plains Civic Center, 110 St. Louis St., in West Plains. It is sponsored by Missouri State University-West Plains’ University/Community Programs (U/CP) Department and the West Plains Council on the Arts.

            This free event will feature two- and three-dimensional pieces by children in grades kindergarten through eighth grade. The artists will represent the following school districts: Alton, Bakersfield, Dora, Fairview, Gainesville, Glenwood, Howell Valley, Junction Hill, Koshkonong, Lutie, Mtn. View-Birch Tree, Richards, Thayer, West Plains and Willow Springs. Each school can display up to 30 pieces of artwork in the exhibit, organizers said.

            The exhibition also will include an awards ceremony at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, March 24, in the civic center lobby, followed by a reception to honor the artists. Artwork will be available for viewing on the mezzanine level. The works will be juried by artists from the region, organizers said.

            Area residents are invited to view the pieces during regular civic center hours, 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Mondays through Fridays and noon to 5 p.m. Saturdays and Sundays.

            For more information about Art Around Town, call the U/CP Department at 417-255-7966 or visit

Caption for Photo: Rose Reeves, a student at West Plains Middle School, won best of show honors for this piece at the 2023 Art Around Town exhibit at the West Plains Civic Center.

Winners in the 2024 Art Around Town Exhibition



3rd         Tinsley Bowen                 Glenwood

2nd        Remington Donaldson Junction Hill

1st         Keera Honerkamp          Willow Springs


3rd         Adelyn Dhillon                 Willow Springs

2nd        Kinsley Carter                 Thayer

1st         Beatrix Miller                   Thayer


3rd         Riley Collins                     Koshkonong

2nd        Makenzie McPherson   Thayer

1st         Aubrey Parker                  WPMS\


3rd         Ocyrus Godina                WPMS

2nd        Ayla Casteneda              Mountain View-Birch Tree

1st         Ava Campbell                 WPMS



3rd         Makayla Downen           Fairview

2nd        Delaney Collins              Thayer

1st         Hattie Komm                    Thayer


3rd         Nash Otter                        Thayer

2nd        Andrew Blankenship     Thayer

1st         Kenya Harrison-Mateo Fairview


3rd         Aubrie Ziegler                  Thayer

2nd        Mya Lawrence                 Thayer

1st         Tinley Bonham                Glenwood


3rd         Makenna Squires           Glenwood

2nd        Chevelle Davis                WPMS

1st         Kimber Stuart                  Junction Hill

Best Of Show    Porter Casey     Willow Springs               

Group Award    Glenwood 7/8  Glenwood

                              Dakotan Brigman          

                              Kaylee Brotherton         

                              Adilee Joyner   

                              Khloe Cinton    

                              Alexis Clarkson              

                              Jennie Stock     

                              Mariah Blagg    

                              Payton Rodgers             

                              Ella Roberts     

                              Makenna Squires          

                              Macy Randall  

                              Chloe Carper   

                              Charlotte Fite  

Slide show online